Grocery list for Christmas 2024

Join our amazing community
Share what you know, learn something new!
register

sweetpumkinpye

Premiere Member
Apr 23, 2008
Canberra, Australia
Mum and I had our annual planning day yesterday and we came up with a plan for 2024.
Mum and I have been sharing the baking and meal prep for the last 20 years or so. It makes buying the groceries and the prep a lot easier and a lot more fun. For example for Christmas dinner, I buy the Turkey, she buys the ham. I do the pasta salad, she does the potato salad, I do one dessert and she does the other. Anything that is to be used at Mum's is stored at her house. She has a cupboard specifically for Christmas/Holiday foods. Anything that I am storing here goes on the very top shelf of a cupboard in my laundry.

We will be paring down things again this year, we find we are just not needing as much as we have done in previous years. There is typically just 4 of us so we are all for making the day a fabulous one but also by making it as easy as possible. We have discussed changing the menu and we all decided that we are perfectly happy with what we offer but will cut back a little on the amount. We generally use any leftovers for Boxing Day and then the following day so get 2 or 3 meals out of what we make.

Baking:
Condensed milk (X)
Milk arrowroot biscuits ( )
Coconut ( )
Cocoa ( )
Cooking chocolate (X) Stored in freezer
Choc chip cookies to crush for fudge (X)
Choc chips for fudge (X)
Candy canes (X) Leftover from last year. To be crushed for chocolate bark.
M&M's (X) and gummy bears (X) for chocolate bark.
Sprinkles (X) Still have plenty after Christmas '23
Freckles (X)
Butter (X) Stored in freezer
Cooking margarine (X) Stored in freezer
Fruit mince mix ( ) This is already proving to be hard to find
SR flour ( )
Plain flour ( )
White sugar ( )

For meals: Not sure what we will be doing for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day breakfast. It depends on DH and I plans.
Turkey breast ( )